HOPE Faculty Win at History of Economics Society Conference

HOPE Faculty Win at History of Economics Society Conference

21 June 2016 4:41PM

Faculty from Duke’s Center for the History of Political Economy (HOPE) won three of the five awards and honors presented at the 2016 meetings of the History of Economics Society (HES), which took place at the Fuqua School of Business on June 17 - 20. Each of the HES award committees worked independently to come up with their recommendations.

Professor Neil de Marchi was named Distinguished Fellow of the HES, the highest award that the society bestows.

Professor Roy Weintraub, together with co-author Till Düppe, won the Joseph Spengler Best Book Award for their book, “Finding Equilibrium: Arrow, Debreu, McKensie and the Problem of Scientific Credit.”

Professor Bruce Caldwell, together with co-author Leon Montes (a former HOPE fellow), won the Best Article Award for their paper, “Friedrich Hayek and His Visits to Chile.” 

Additionally, Professor Craufurd Goodwin gave a plenary lecture on “Perceptions of the (In)stability of Human Preferences.”

HOPE Fellow and HES President-Elect Mauro Boianovsky organized the four-day conference. Approximately 150 historians of economics from around the world attended the event.