History of Economics Society Best Article Prize Becomes the “Craufurd Goodwin Best Article Prize”

Friday, May 12, 2017

The History of Economics Society (HES) has named its Best Article Prize the "Craufurd Goodwin Best Article Prize" in honor of Duke Economics Professor Craufurd Goodwin, who passed away on April 20. This change will be effective next month at the 2017 HES Conference in Toronto.

“Interestingly enough, Craufurd suggested the creation of the HES ‘best article award’ in the early 1990s. It remained unnamed until now,” said HES President Mauro Boianovsky.

Goodwin was a founding member of the Society, as well as a past president and distinguished fellow. As a founding member of the Center for the History of Political Economy at Duke, Goodwin also helped to establish the university as a leader in the field. 

“It is fitting to name the award after Craufurd, as he was the founder and long-time editor of History of Political Economy (HOPE), the first and main journal in the field of the history of economics,” Boianovsky said. “By founding the HOPE journal, he institutionalized the history of economics as a field. Before that, authors had to submit their papers to general journals, which became increasingly resistant to publishing such papers in the 1960s and 1970s.”

Goodwin’s research, including co-authorships and editorships, amounts to more than 100 articles and books completed during a four-decade span. According to Boianovsky, the quality of his work made a mark on his peers as well as new generations of historians.